Himachal Pradesh Legislative assembly


Himachal legislative assembly came into existence after the formation of Himachal Pradesh, on 15th April, 1948. It was then administered by a chief Commissioner. In 1951, when Himachal became a part ‘C’ state, Himachal Pradesh was brought under a Lt. Governor with Legislative assembly having 36 members. First elections of the assembly were held in 1952 and Indian National Congress formed the first govt. of the state and Dr. Yashwant Singh Parmar who is also known as ‘founder of Himachal Pradesh’, became the first Chief Minister of the state.

Finally on 25th January, 1971 Himachal got the complete statehood and became the 18th state of India. After the delimitation of the assembly in 1971-72 the strength of the assembly was fixed to 68 which is also the strength of current assembly.

Dr. Y.S. Parmar remained the Chief Minister for four terms (1952-56,1962-77). Later on Sh. Shanta Kumar served the assembly in 1977-82 and 1990-92. Sh. Virbhadra Singh took over Sh. Ram Lal Thakur in 1983 and kept the position till 1990. He was again elected as CM in 1993-1998, 2003-07 and 2012 assembly elections. Prof. Prem Kumar Dhumal(BJP) remained the Chief Minister of the state in 1998-2003 and 2007-12.

Assembly ConstituencyList of MLAs

Current Assembly Structure(Party Wise)

PartyNo. of Seats
Bhartiya Janta Party27
Himachal Lokhit Party1

Council of Ministers

Sr. No.NameDesignation
1Sh. Virbhadra Singh Chief Minister(All other Departments which are not allotted including PWD and Education)
2Smt. Vidya Stokes Irrigation and Public Health Minister
3Sh. Kaul Singh Thakur Health and Family Welfare Minister
4Sh. G. S. Bali Transport, Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs and Technical Education Minister
5Sh. Thakur Singh Bharmouri Forest Minister
6Sh. Mukesh Agnihotri Industry Minister
7Sh. Sujan Singh Pathania Power and Agriculture Minister
8Sh. Dheeraj Sharma Urban Development Minister
9Sh. Dhani Ram Shandil Social Justice & Empowerment Department Minister
10Sh. Anil Kumar Panchayati Raj and Rural Development Minister)
11Sh. Prakash Chaudhary Excise & Taxation Minister